View All Streams from Friends of Tippet Rise

Watch it again: Igor Levit - Live from Wigmore Hall

Igor Levit piano

Igor Levit’s programme takes us from Beethoven’s first canonical sonata (1795), through to the short G major work (1809), by way of the 1800-1 sonata that includes a celebrated funeral march and the 1803 work dedicated to the composer’s patron Count Waldstein.

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Piano Sonata No. 1 in F minor Op. 2 No. 1
Piano Sonata No. 12 in A flat Op. 26 ‘Funeral March’
Piano Sonata No. 25 in G Op. 79
Piano Sonata No. 21 in C Op. 53 'Waldstein’

Founded in 1901, Wigmore Hall is the Carnegie Hall of England and is one of the acoustic models for our Olivier Music Barn at Tippet Rise.

This fall, we have joined with Wigmore to present four of its 100 concerts scheduled from September 13 – December 22. All 100 performances will be live-streamed on Wigmore’s website and will remain available to watch on-demand for 30 days after broadcast. Streaming the concerts is free; however, registration is required.

One of our great pleasures has been partnering with peer cultural organizations, which we admire deeply, to share their treasured concerts and productions with our Tippet Rise audience.

We hope you’ll be transported through the acoustics of Wigmore into the age of Henry James at the hands of these modern masters, and we thank John Gilhooly, our friend and Wigmore’s Artistic Director, for this special opportunity.