View All Streams from Friends of Tippet Rise

Coming soon: Sir András Schiff - Live from Wigmore Hall October 2nd, 2020

An exceptional artist brings together the works of two composers who achieved great things in small forms, as Janáček did in his suite On an Overgrown Path and Schumann in his Dances of the League of David, each of its movements signed by his alter egos Florestan or Eusebius, and some by both.


Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
On an Overgrown Path

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
Davidsbündlertänze Op. 6

Leoš Janáček
Sonata I.X.1905 ‘From the Street’

Robert Schumann
Piano Sonata No. 1 in F sharp minor Op. 11

Founded in 1901, Wigmore Hall is the Carnegie Hall of England and is one of the acoustic models for our Olivier Music Barn at Tippet Rise.

This fall, we have joined with Wigmore to present four of its 100 concerts scheduled from September 13 – December 22. All 100 performances will be live-streamed on Wigmore’s website and will remain available to watch on-demand for 30 days after broadcast. Streaming the concerts is free; however, registration is required.

One of our great pleasures has been partnering with peer cultural organizations, which we admire deeply, to share their treasured concerts and productions with our Tippet Rise audience.

We hope you’ll be transported through the acoustics of Wigmore into the age of Henry James at the hands of these modern masters, and we thank John Gilhooly, our friend and Wigmore’s Artistic Director, for this special opportunity.