Back to events concert

James Austin Smith, oboe, Benjamin Beilman, violin, Ayane Kozasa, viola, Sæunn Thorsteinsdóttir, cello, Pedja Muzijevic, piano

Friday, August 23, 2019

The Olivier Music Barn, 6:30 PM

Pre Concert Talk: 5:00 PM, Tiara Acoustic Shell


With five performances, each sixty minutes long, this special festival weekend at Tippet Rise features our very own Artistic Advisor, the extraordinary pianist Pedja Muzijevic, joined by seven musicians in residence, each celebrated for their virtuosity and sought after for performances around the world. For tonight’s performance, in the Olivier Music Barn, Muzijevic is joined by oboist James Austin Smith (praised by The New York Times for his “virtuosic,” “dazzling" and “brilliant” performances), violinist Benjamin Beilman (“monstrously talented” Philadelphia Inquirer), the prize-winning violist Ayane Kozasa, and Sæunn Thorsteinsdóttir, Iceland’s “charismatic cellist” (The New York Times). The evening’s recital explores works by Bach and Dvořák and includes a sequenza (sequence) for solo oboe by the 20th century Italian composer, Luciano Berio, a “composer of mind and heart” (The New York Times).


JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH: Capriccio on the Departure of a Beloved Brother in B-flat Major, BWV 992
Arioso: Adagio “Ist eine Schmeichelung der Freunde, um denselben von seiner Reise abzuhalten”
(A plea from his friends to discourage his journey)
[Andante] “Ist eine Vorstellung unterschiedlicher Casuum, die ihm in der Fremde könnten vorfallen”
(An image of various misfortunes that could befall him in foreign lands)
Adagiosissimo “Ist ein allgemeines Lamento der Freunde” (A general lament by his friends)
[Andante con moto] “All hier kommen die Freunde, weil sie doch sehen, dass es anders nicht sein
kann, und nehmen Abschied” (His friends come, since they see that it cannot be otherwise, and
bid farewell)
Aria di Postiglione: Allegro poco (Aria of the post horn)
Fuga all’imitazione della cornetta di postiglione (Fugue in imitation of the post horn)

Pedja Muzijevic, piano

LUCIANO BERIO: Sequenza VII for Solo Oboe

James Austin Smith, oboe

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK: Piano Quartet No. 2 in E-flat Major, Op. 87
Allegro con fuoco
Allegro moderato, grazioso
Finale: Allegro ma non troppo

Benjamin Beilman, violin
Ayane Kozasa, viola
Sæunn Thorsteinsdóttir, cello
Pedja Muzijevic, piano