View All Events

Aizuri Quartet: What’s Past is Prologue Part 2

June 30, 2021 | 6:00 PM MTAizuri Quartet: What’s Past is Prologue Part 2


This event premiered on June 30, 2021. It is no longer available to stream at this time.

Tippet Rise Art Center and Baryshnikov Art Center are proud to co-present What’s Past is Prologue featuring the Aizuri Quartet. The two-part concert series will feature music by female composers spanning the past millennia.

The June 30 premiere includes Alex Fortes’ new, Aizuri-commissioned string quartet arrangements of Italian composer and singer Barbara Strozzi’s L'usignuolo “The Nightingale” and L’amante modesto “The Modest Lover,” originally written for soprano, alto, tenor, and bass with basso continuo; and the second movement of British, Jamaican-born composer Eleanor Alberga’s (b. 1949) String Quartet No. 1.

Event Information:
Wednesday, June 30, 2021 at 3PM MDT until Wednesday, July 14 at 3PM MDT
Free and available on demand
Running Time: 25 Minutes

Barbara Strozzi (arr. Alex Fortes): L'usignuolo
Eleanor Alberga: String Quartet No. 1 (1993)
II. Espressivo, with wonder and yearning
Barbara Strozzi (arr. Alex Fortes): L'amante modesto

On June 28, BAC and Tippet Rise present a ZOOM conversation with the Aizuri Quartet. For more information, click here.

On June 23, BAC and Tippet Rise present Part 1 of What’s Past is Prologue. For more information, click here.

Programs were filmed at the studio of sculptor Joel Shapiro in Long Island City, NY on March 4, 2021.

Film Director - Tristan Cook
Audio Engineer - Noriko Okabe

Photo by Maria Baranova, courtesy of Baryshnikov Arts Center