Back to events concert

Anna Geniushene, piano

Friday, September 8, 2023

The Olivier Music Barn, 5:30 PM


MUZIO CLEMENTI: Piano Sonata in E-flat Major, Op. 1 No. 1
Allegro comodo
Tempo di Minuetto

Scherzo à la russe. Allegro moderato
Impromptu. Allegro furioso

SERGEI PROKOFIEV: Piano Sonata No. 5 in C Major, Op. 38
Allegro tranquillo
Un poco allegretto

VALENTYN SILVESTROV: Four Pieces for Piano, Op. 302 (2020) – Tippet Rise Commission and World Premiere
Waltz of the Moment
Waltz of the Moment

PROKOFIEV: Piano Sonata No. 4 in C Minor, Op. 29
Allegro molto sostenuto
Andante assai
Allegro con brio, ma non leggiero

Pianist Anna Geniushene is the 2022 recipient of the prestigious Cliburn Silver Medal. Of her performances at the competition, Musical America stated, “powerhouse sound, forceful musical personality, and sheer virtuosity…had this critic on the edge of his seat.” Born in Moscow, Anna made her recital debut at age seven and has since developed a diverse and versatile career as an artist. She currently resides in Lithuania with her husband and their young children. For her debut performance at Tippet Rise, Geniushene will perform works by virtuosos Muzio Clementi, Tchaikovsky, and Prokoviev, as well as the World Premiere of the Tippet Rise Commission – Valentyn Silvestrov’s Four Pieces for Piano, Op. 302 (2020). This is the seventh of ten works commissioned by the art center and written by Silvestrov, Ukraine’s most important composer who is now living in exile because of the war.

Geniushene appears by arrangement with the Cliburn.