Back to events concert

Brentano String Quartet

Friday, September 15, 2023

The Olivier Music Barn, 5:30 PM



JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH: Contrapunctus VII from Die Kunst der Fuge, BWV 1080


HENRY PURCELL: Fantasia in G Major Z.742

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN: String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat Major, Op. 130
Adagio, ma non troppo – Allegro
Andante con moto, ma non troppo. Poco scherzoso
Alla danza tedesca. Allegro assai
Cavatina. Adagio molto espressivo
Finale: Allegro

Since its inception in 1992, the Brentano String Quartet, composed of Serena Canin and Mark Steinberg (violin); Misha Amory (viola); and Nina Lee (cello), has appeared throughout the world to popular and critical acclaim. They were promptly recipients of several awards early in their career, including the first Cleveland Quartet Award and the Naumberg Chamber Music Award, and have since performed across five continents in the world’s most prestigious venues and festivals. The Brentano has been the quartet-in-residence at the Yale School of Music since 2014, following 15 years in residence at Princeton University. The Quartet has also launched numerous projects over the years that reimagine the standard concert program. For their Tippet Rise debut, the group will perform a program including works by contemporary Scottish composer James Macmillan, Henry Purcell, Beethoven, and Bach’s masterpiece Art of Fugue, which the quartet has examined at several points throughout their career.